One Sealaska Plaza, Ste. 200, Juneau, AK 99801



P: (907)790-5300, F: (907)463-5480 www.arsstc.org

Alaska Remote Seller Sales Tax Commission Annual Members Meeting Minutes December 7, 2022 7:30 am – 8:00 am Virtual via Zoom; In-person At Dena'ina Center

Board of Director Attendees:

- Jeff Rogers
- Stephanie Queen
- Scott Bloom
- Melissa Haley
- Joan Miller
- Brandi Harbaugh
- Xavier Mason

1. Call to order / Roll Call

- Call to Order at 7:50am by Jeff Rogers, then meeting adjourned until 4:30pm same day due to lack of quorum.
- 2nd Call to order at 4:35pm by Jeff Rogers. Quorum was established with 27 member jurisdictions present.

2. Approval of the Agenda

• Motion to approve by Adak, no objection.

3. Approval of the Minutes

- a. 10.19.2022 Board Meeting minutes
- Motion to approve by Seldovia, no objection.

4. Public participation on Non-Agenda Items

• Comments from Jeff Rogers regarding growth of program and continued benefits to communities. Program is achieving goal of leveling playing field between local businesses and online stores.

5. Official Business

a. Member vote on proposed Bylaws amendments

Motion by Juneau for additional amendment to address quorum requirements for member meetings. Proposal to amend Article III, section 6 to strike "a majority of" and add "properly noticed". Soldotna preferred adding minimum number of members for quorum. Proposed "not fewer than 15 members".

Motion by Bethel to accept amendments. Seconded by Quinhagak. Adak then pointed out Article XI, Section 1 that required at least 30 days notice to members of proposed amendments. The quorum amendments were not properly noticed in accordance with Article XI, Section 1.



One Sealaska Plaza, Ste. 200, Juneau, AK 99801

P: (907)790-5300, F: (907)463-5480 www.arsstc.org

Motion by Adak to rescind quorum amendment to the Bylaws. No objection.

Motion by Bethel to adopt original, properly noticed amendments to Bylaws. Seconded by Ketchikan.

b. Election of Board of Directors

- i. Three candidates for expiring seats
 - 1. Brandi Harbaugh
 - 2. Melissa Haley
 - 3. Joan Miller

No additional nominations received. Motion by Adak to accept nominations. Seconded by Ketchikan.

c. Election of Board officers

- i. President
- ii. Vice-President
- iii. Treasurer
- iv. Secretary

Board deferred election of Board officers to next Board meeting.

d. Schedule Board meetings for 2023

Board agreed with staff's recommendation of regular meetings throughout 2023 of the 3rd Wednesday of every other month, starting in January 2023. Meetings will be held from 10am-noon.

6. Comments

Stephanie Queen thanked Jeff Rogers for his leadership and help with establishing the ARSSTC.

7. Adjournment

Adjournment at 4:53 pm

Respectfully submitted, Clinton Singletary, AMSTP Sales Tax Director

Approved:		
By:	Xavier Mason, ARSSTC Board Secretary	Date